Technical Articles

What are the 5 Levels of BIM?

In the field of architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC), Building Information Modeling (BIM) has emerged as a powerful tool for improving project coordination and collaboration. BIM allows professionals to create digital representations of a building's physical and functional characteristics. There are five levels of BIM, each representing varying degrees of sophistication in terms of information integration and collaboration. Let's delve deeper into these levels to understand their significance and benefits.

Level 0: Unmanaged CAD

The first level of BIM is often referred to as "Unmanaged CAD" as it represents the most basic form of computer-aided design. Here, design data is predominantly stored in 2D drawings, with limited or no interoperability between different disciplines. This leads to fragmented communication and coordination issues during the execution phase. Level 0 lacks the advantages of true BIM, such as parametric modeling and a central data repository.

Level 1: Managed CAD

In Level 1, basic collaboration and coordination are introduced through the utilization of standardized file formats. Design information is managed in separate discipline-specific models, allowing for better data sharing and coordination. However, the lack of integration across multiple models limits the potential benefits of BIM. Each discipline continues to work independently without real-time collaboration.

Level 2: Managed 3D BIM

Level 2 marks a significant step forward in terms of collaboration and information sharing. It introduces a federated model approach, where each discipline creates a separate 3D model that is integrated together through a common data environment (CDE). The CDE acts as a hub for coordinating project information and enables the exchange of data between various disciplines. This level enables higher levels of collaboration and coordination.

Level 3: Full Integration and Collaboration

At Level 3, the focus shifts to achieving true collaboration and integration across the entire project lifecycle. All stakeholders, including architects, engineers, contractors, and suppliers, work on a single shared model in real-time. This integrated project model allows for concurrent engineering, clash detection, and information exchanges in a collaborative environment. Level 3 BIM maximizes efficiency and minimizes risks throughout the project's lifecycle.

It is important to note that the transition from one level to the next involves an evolution in technology, processes, and cultural changes within the AEC industry. The goal of reaching Level 3 BIM requires organizations to adopt a holistic approach and embrace the necessary changes enthusiastically.


Building Information Modeling (BIM) provides numerous benefits to the AEC industry, improving coordination, reducing errors, and enhancing project efficiency. The five levels of BIM represent a roadmap for organizations to gradually improve their collaborative capabilities and reap the full potential of this technology. From Level 0 to Level 3, the progression involves increasing integration and collaboration, ultimately leading to enhanced project outcomes and client satisfaction. Embracing BIM at its highest level enables the industry to move towards more sustainable and cost-effective construction practices.



Contact: Eason Wang

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code